You are not logged in.

#1 October 6, 2011 9:41am

Moloch
Arkanix Labs
From: Murkasada
Registered: October 7, 2008
Posts: 5,598
Website

On/off switch fails ...

So this morning, while testing a few c64 motherboards, the on/off switch on my 1084SD1 fails. It is the sort of switch you push in to turn the power on. I've read about this happening with the 1084S before, but hoped it would never happen here.

So, what to do to fix it? I pulled the casing apart and discovered there is a shitload of stuff to deal with ... shut the case right back up. Phew.

Fixing the problem is sorta a goofy hack, but a few well placed, and super glued on, chopstick pieces now keep the switch pushed in 24/7. The new on/off switch is the power cable.

I guess it is time to find one of those converter/connectors to hook the c64 up to modern monitors. Anybody have some recommendations?

Offline

#2 October 6, 2011 9:52am

aNdy
Arkanix Labs
From: Pontypwl, Cymru
Registered: August 10, 2009
Posts: 2,550
Website

Re: On/off switch fails ...

Chinese chopsticks?

Haha!  Rice fix. Er, I mean nice fix.  You must have used your noodle for that one! Quite a sweet solution in the end. Hope it doesn't go sour. Hope using the power cable as the 'on/off' doesn't cause a stir and fry your machine.  It'll do for now I guess, but you probably wonton a more permanent fix...

And other Chinese food jokes, etc...

Offline

#3 October 6, 2011 11:17am

Warlock
Arkanix Labs
From: New Jersey
Registered: October 7, 2008
Posts: 3,223
Website

Re: On/off switch fails ...

Yeah I have heard many people having to resort to that issue of getting another way to turn it off maybe with one of those desk power supplies the older ones that layed flat under monitor and the switches on front to turn items on and off.

Offline

#4 October 6, 2011 11:44am

Fuzz
Arkanix Labs
Registered: October 7, 2008
Posts: 2,186
Website

Re: On/off switch fails ...

aNdy wrote:

Chinese chopsticks?

Haha!  Rice fix. Er, I mean nice fix.  You must have used your noodle for that one! Quite a sweet solution in the end. Hope it doesn't go sour. Hope using the power cable as the 'on/off' doesn't cause a stir and fry your machine.  It'll do for now I guess, but you probably wonton a more permanent fix...

And other Chinese food jokes, etc...

And great applause was heard from my corner of the Internet.

Offline

#5 October 6, 2011 12:49pm

Moloch
Arkanix Labs
From: Murkasada
Registered: October 7, 2008
Posts: 5,598
Website

Re: On/off switch fails ...

Damn Andy ... joke machine, wtf. big_smile

Yeah, need to find another solution for the power switch ... pulling the plug all the time is rather lame. I like the power switch under the monitor thingy, now to find a nice one.

Offline

Registered users online in this topic: 0, guests: 1
[Bot] CCBot

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB
Modified by Visman

[ Generated in 0.020 seconds, 8 queries executed - Memory usage: 3.03 MiB (Peak: 3.15 MiB) ]